Vegan Cinnamon Coffee Cake Muffins

How much would you love me if I were to stroll over to your home and bring you coffee cake? I’m relatively certain that you’d ask for my hand in marriage. You won’t even know that these are vegan.

If it’s coffee cake, why bake it in a muffin tin? Because I was torn between two desires: coffee cake and muffins. Combining the two resulted in a heavenly win. I happen to think that muffin sized coffee cake is even better. And my reasoning for this thinking is because saying you’ve eaten three muffins sounds a lot less gluttonous than saying you’ve devoured three slices.

My logic most likely doesn’t make a whole lot of since to you. Don’t worry, it doesn’t make since to me, either.

And while you’re off in your kitchen baking these magnificent vegan coffee cake muffins, I suggest you listen to this music video. Because they’ve got that whole indie rock sound and I insist you never bake in silence. Unless of course you and your mug of coffee need to share some silence together.

Vegan Cinnamon Coffee Cake Muffins

Makes about 13 muffins

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup nondairy milk
  • 1 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp. ground flax seed + 2 tbsp. water
  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Topping:

  • 1/4 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a muffin tin with 13 muffin liners. Or you may spray with non-stick cooking spray.

In a large bowl combine the sugar, oil, nondairy milk, vanilla, ground flax seed and water. Mix until thoroughly combined. Add the flour, baking powder and salt. Mix until all of the ingredients have been incorportated.

In a separate small bowl, mix together the topping ingredients (vegetable shortening, flour, brown sugar and cinnamon) until fully combined.

Spoon your cake batter evenly into your lined muffin tins. Using your hands, crumble the topping mixture over your cake batter. Bake muffins for about 15-20 minutes. The muffins will be done when a toothpick inserted in the center of the muffins comes out clean. Let muffins cool for 15 minutes before eating.

5 Responses to “Vegan Cinnamon Coffee Cake Muffins”

  1. Thanks for having us! I’m a HUGE fan of Vegan treats, so you couldn’t and picked a more perfect spot to put us. Coffee forever!

  2. I am really loving the theme/design of your web site.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?

    A couple of my blog audience have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any advice to help fix this problem?

  3. These taste just like Hostess crumb cakes. Next time, I’ll try Earth Balance in the crumb topping for a more buttery taste, but they get an A in my book!

  4. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite sure I will learn plenty of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

